ConPharm Enquiries

12th Annual Consultant Clinical Pharmacy Seminar

Over 300 attendees, with 27 speakers and 13 exhibitor stands

A lot happened over the three days. The event was opened by retiring AACP Chair Grant Kardachi, who completes his two-year tenure at the end of this month. We also welcomed Joe O’Malley as the incoming Chair (2016-2018). Both Grant and Joe will be featured in upcoming issues of The Accredited Pharmacist – Grant looking back over his two years at the helm, and Joe outlining his vision for the future of the AACP and the credential.

Dr Jenny Gowan was announced the winner of the 2016 AACP MIMS Consultant Pharmacist of the Year – the award includes a medallion and $5000 study grant to attend a pharmacy conference thanks to the generosity of MIMS. Accredited since 2001, Jenny continues to perform MMRs and provide training to accredited pharmacists and pharmacy students.

The social aspect of ConPharm commenced with Friday night’s welcome reception. This casual, relaxed function provided a great opportunity to network with colleagues from across Australia, and to catch up with old friends or make some new ones.

Over the past 11 years ConPharm has established itself as one of the premier CPD events for accredited pharmacist and for those with an interest in this area of practice.

This year saw 25 presentations and three optional workshops over the three days. Themes include cardiology, endocrinology, neurology and respiratory medicine. In addition, there was an update on the management of osteoporosis in primary care and talks on new and emerging areas of practice involving the role of biosimilars, medicinal cannabis and medicines administration following bariatric surgery.

Exhibitors included MIMS, PDL, Australian Medicines Handbook, NPS Medicinewise, mdBriefcase, Boehringer-Ingelheim, Lung Foundation of Australia, Evomed-Gloup, Australian College of Pharmacy, Novonordisk, Australian Pharmacy Council, Medscope, Pharmaceutical Society of Australia. The AACP thanks the exhibitors, who support and add value to the overall ConPharm experience.

AACP also acknowledges and thanks our major sponsors MIMS and PDL. They have been with us from the start, and help to make this event an absolute must on the CPD calendar.

And thanks to all the attendees – some of whom have attended all 11 events. We appreciate your support and look forward to seeing you next year.

Months of planning went into making ConPharm’16 such a great success. The intrepid AACP team, headed up by Nadia Walters and Sarah Gillespie, left nothing to chance. From the selection of the venue, to the extensive speaker/topic roster and venue logistic arrangements. All those long days, tedious meetings, endless spreadsheets and sleepless nights were worth it – the event went off without a hitch.

If you missed out on this year’s event, make sure you’re there for 2017.