Board of Directors

Dr Stephen Carter, NSW (PSA)

Immediate Past Chair (2018-2020)

Stephen is a community and accredited pharmacist, researcher and academic. Stephen is a member of and past President of the Pharmaceutical Society of Australia (PSA) NSW Branch committee. He has been accredited to perform medication review since program inception and represented PSA on the National Advisory Group for the AACP for five years. Stephen is a full-time lecturer in pharmacy practice at the University of Sydney. Prior to this he was a lecturer at the University of Canberra.

Stephen’s research is centred on consumers’ experiences with medicines and how their thoughts feelings and behaviour can be modified to ensure the quality use of medicines. He has recently been investigating the role of medication management apps on adherence improvement. His research interests also aims to ensure that society makes the most use of pharmacists’ expertise in medication management services and how best to educate pharmacists to achieve this. He has recently published a text-book chapter dealing with the unique and expanding role of pharmacists, including medication management reviews, in the Australian Health System.  

Stephen’s advocacy on behalf of the profession is notable, and recent highlights include ministerial meetings in regards to expanded roles for medication management pharmacies after hospital discharge and the role-out of the electronic recording of controlled drugs. Stephen aims to advocate on behalf of accredited pharmacists to ensure that the health system makes the best possible use of our unique skillset – as medication management experts.

Joseph O’Malley, TAS (Guild)

Joe graduated from the University of Tasmania in 1999. After spending several years as a clinical pharmacist in the Victorian hospital system, he moved to Shepparton in regional Victoria. Together with his wife, they spent eight years managing and owning a large, shopping centre pharmacy before relocating to Ulverstone, in Northern Tasmania.

Joe is a Branch Committee of the Pharmacy Guild in Tasmania. Branch.  In addition to this, he is the Tasmanian state Director for Pharmaceutical Defence Limited (PDL).

Katie Hayes, TAS (Guild)

Katie graduated from the university of Tasmania in 2003. She has worked in several community pharmacies, and currently is the managing partner at Risdon Vale Pharmacy in Southern Tasmania. Katie has been an Accredited Pharmacist since 2010. During this time she has undertaken HMRs for her community pharmacy customers, as a contracted pharmacist for other community pharmacies, and through the direct referral process. Katie also undertakes RMMRs.

Katie is the Vice President of the Pharmacy Guild of Australia, Tasmania Branch committee, and is a committee member of the Pharmaceutical Society of Australia, Tasmania Branch.

Katie has an interest in professional services and is passionate about assisting people in her community to achieve optimal health. To assist with delivering this she has undertaken a Graduate Diploma in Wound Care and is an Asthma Educator. She also has a Master of Clinical Pharmacy and a Graduate Certificate of Applied Pharmacy Practice.

Grant Kardachi, SA (PSA)

Grant has served as a Director on the AACP Board since 2005. He is a former National President of the Pharmaceutical Society of Australia. He was a community pharmacist owner for many years but sold his business interests several years ago. He was accredited for over 20 years and was always heavily involved in the HMR program and made a significant contribution in its original implementation.

As a community pharmacy owner, he always had a passion for professional services and practice change. He views practice change as an important foundation to integrate new initiatives into a pharmacy model that is sustainable and viable in the future.

Grant has always had a strong connection with the Aged Care sector and serviced a number of Aged Care facilities as a pharmacy owner. He has been a long serving member of the board of Southern Cross Care, a significant Aged Care provider in South Australia and NT/Vic.

Sue Edwards, SA (PSA)

Accredited since 1998, Sue has worked in a wide range of pharmacy practice settings and professional capacities which have included research, teaching and service delivery in the hospital, primary care and residential aged care settings, and editorial work for the Australian Medicines Handbook. Sue currently provides RMMR and HMR services and is a key senior member of the DATIS team and works in General Practice including aboriginal health services each week.  

Sue has been involved with AACP since 1993 in a variety of roles including mentoring, assessing case studies and being a member of the NAG (2004 – 2009). In 2012 Sue was awarded the AACP Consultant Pharmacist of the Year. Sue was president of the PSA SA/NT Branch committee from 2012 to 2017 and remains as a member of the Branch Committee and also a member of the PSA National Accredited pharmacist leadership group.

Sue is committed to improving quality of medication reviews for better patient outcomes from a personal perspective and also supporting other pharmacists to achieve excellence in professional services.

Dr Shane Jackson, TAS (PSA)

Shane Jackson has a broad background as a pharmacist. Shane is a practicing community pharmacist, and owner of three rural community pharmacies in Tasmania. He also works as a Consultant Pharmacist within the home and aged care settings and is actively involved in delivering professional development programs to nurses in aged care.

He was a former National President of the PSA and he has been credentialed as one of the first Advanced Practice Pharmacists in Australia. He is a Clinical Reference Lead with the Australian Digital Health Agency and was the Lead Negotiator for the PSA in the 7th Community Pharmacy Agreement.

He is an experienced educator who has been delivering presentations on multiple topics such as anticoagulation, therapeutics, and professional pharmacy practice programs for a number of years.